Topic – Harry and Katniss

Share to Brightspace Continue with Brightspace

Read the Following Selection

Read the following selection, or click on the play button below to listen aloud.

Harry and Katniss

Harry Potter and Katniss Everdeen. If you do not know these names, then you might be living under a rock. These are the names of the two main characters in two of the most popular book series today—Harry Potter in the series of the same name, and Katniss Everdeen in The Hunger Games.

The Hunger Games is a science fiction trilogy written by Suzanne Collins. The seven Harry Potter books are fantasy novels written by J. K. Rowling. Together, these two series have sold over 100 million copies in hardcover and e-book formats, and have been translated into numerous languages. Both have been made into very successful movies.

Series books can be divided into categories according to the timeline of the books. In some series, the books stand alone. They can be read in any order. The main characters are the same, but the events of previous books do not play a large part in the books that follow. The Nancy Drew books are an example of this. In other series, the books should be read in the order they were written because what has happened before is very important in each book. Harry Potter books and The Hunger Games are series like these. In some series, books are written later that “jump back” in time. For example, in the Chronicles of Narnia, the fifth book in the series (The Horse and His Boy) takes place before the events of the first book.

Why do readers like series books? The most important reason is the characters. Readers care about the characters. They want to know what happens to the characters. They begin to think of the characters as friends. Also, a series of books can show character development. Over the series, readers get to know the characters deeply. They see how they change and grow. Harry Potter ages from 10 to 17 in the series of books (not including when he was a baby). So readers can see him change and mature from a pre-teen to an almost-adult.

Another reason is the story arc. A story arc is the plot of a story. Most story arcs follow a similar pattern, which can be thought of as a mountain. In a series, there are two story arcs. Each book has a story arc. The ending of each book must be an ending to that book, but must also provide a link to the next book. The other story arc is for the series. Each book in the series moves the reader closer to the conclusion of the series. So to find out what happens at the very end, the reader must keep reading.

If you have never read a series, maybe it is time to try. You might just like it.

Now, show what you know!

Complete some questions about the reading selection by clicking “Begin Questions” below.